# **LOCAL BOUNDARY COMMISSION**



550 WEST 7<sup>TH</sup> AVENUE, SUITE 1640 ANCHORAGE, ALASKA 99501, 907-269-4559/4587, FAX: 907-269-4563

# Dillingham and Manokotak Annexation Petitions Decisional Meeting Minutes

Thursday, December 1, 2016, at 9:00 am Atwood Building, 550 W. 7<sup>th</sup> Ave., Suite 1760; Anchorage, AK

#### **ADMINISTRATIVE**

#### 1. Call to order

The chair called the meeting to order at 9:08 a.m.

# 2. Roll call and determination of quorum

A roll call confirmed all five commissioners were present and represented a quorum.

#### 3. Introduction of commissioners and staff

Three commissioners were present in person: Commissioners Darroll Hargraves, and Lavell Wilson, and Chair Lynn Chrystal. Two commissioners were present via teleconference: Commissioners John Harrington, and Bob Harcharek
Staff present in person: Eileen Collins, Brent Williams, Marty McGee, Melissa Taylor (DCRA) and Mary Lynn Macsalka (Dept. of Law)

# 4. Identify all parties present

In person: Jim Brennan (City of Manokotak); Lamar Cotten, (City of Dillingham); Lea Filippi (Southwest Region School District)

Via teleconference: Jim Baldwin (Ekuk, et al.)

# 5. Acknowledge if members of the public are present

In person: Andy Varner (City of Sand Point); [others present were not identified on the record]

# 6. Local Boundary Commission (LBC) chair remarks

Chair Chrystal said that the commission had been busy for the last three days holding hearings on the two petitions in Dillingham and Manokotak.

# 7. Approve or amend the agenda

Commissioner Wilson moved to approve the agenda as presented. Commissioner Harcharek seconded the motion. Eileen Collins called the roll, five commissioners voted in favor, and the agenda was approved as presented.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

# 1. Public comment concerning matters that are neither on the agenda nor pending before the commission

None.

### 2. Decision regarding the Manokotak annexation petition

Commissioner Harcharek moved to approve the Manokotak petition as presented; Commissioner Wilson seconded the motion. A discussion followed the motion and the chair led the commission through the decisional process using the checklist.

Three commissioners voted in favor of the petition: Chair Lynn Chrystal, and Commissioners Robert Harcharek and Darroll Hargraves. Commissioners John Harrington and Lavell Wilson voted against approval. With three votes in the majority for approval, the commission approved the City of Manokotak's annexation petition to annex approximately 155 square miles of land and water.

The meeting took a short recess at this time.

# 3. Decision regarding the Dillingham annexation petition

The chair led the commission through the decisional process using the checklist. After discussion, the chair called for a vote. Commissioner Harrington moved to approve the Dillingham petition as presented. Commissioner Harcharek seconded the motion. Commissioner Harrington moved to amend his motion to exclude the area already granted in approval of the City of Manokotak's annexation petition, and that territory on the east side of Nushagak Bay, which was depicted and described in the two exhibits E-30 and E-31 presented by respondents Ekuk, et al., at the public hearing.

The amendment provides for exclusion of the legal offshore fishing distance for set nets and the corresponding Fish and Game statistical areas, which were described during the public hearing and during the decisional meeting. The amendment also excluded the Igushik and

Snake River Sections that were included as part of the City of Manokotak's annexation petition approved by the commission earlier in the decisional meeting. Commissioner Wilson seconded the motion to amend the motion to approve the annexation. A roll call vote was taken on whether to approve the amendment which excluded the above-noted areas from the territory proposed for annexation. Four commissioners voted yes. Commissioner Hargraves voted no and stated that he supported only part of the amendment and, therefore, had to vote against the motion to amend. After a discussion, a roll call vote on the amended motion to approve the petition was called. All five commissioners voted in favor of approving the City of Dillingham's petition as amended by the commission.

# 4. Comments from commissioners and LBC staff

Several of the commissioners provided comment regarding the meeting.

# 5. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 1:09 p.m.